Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The issue of whether sports and social activities should receive the same amount of budget as the classes and libraries aroused much controversy among people of different ages and different perspectives. Definitely, some people if were asked would agree with the statement that university should consider the importance of sports and social activities for students and devote the same financial support, while others have a negative attitude toward this point of view. As far as I am concerned, I completely in agreement with the former group. In the following paragraph, I will shed light on the arguments to support my view.

The first point to be mentioned is that student’s health as young people who are supposed to make the future of society is a very significant issue. Students usually spend up to 7 hours at school and most of this time they sit on the chair to listen to their teacher. As a result of this sedentary lifestyle, many young people in school-age are obese. As you know, scientist proved there is a correlation between obesity and chronic diseases such as cardiovascular diseases, diabetes, and blood pressure. Therefore, it is really necessary that the university provides a condition that more students encouraged to do exercise because of this important reason. By investing money to renovate old facilities and establishing a new gym and swimming pool, without any doubt more students participate in these kinds of activities.

In approaching this issue, apart from the reason given above, another reason that deserves some words is that only learning academic subject would not help students to be a successful person in the future. They need to learn and improve some important skills to prepare for the real world. By attending social activities, they learn to be more socialize, they learn how to get along with different people with a diverse background. For instance, some students might be shy and attending social club force them to express their opinion and solve this problem by taking part in the discussion. While if these students enter the workplace and could not show their abilities due to their introvert character, they never succeed in this competitive world that everyone wants to show he or she is the best to get a promotion at work. Therefore, the excellent grade would not enough for their future success and university can create the condition to assist students to learn these essential skills.

By the way of conclusion, based on the arguments explored above, I am of the opinion university should dedicate the equal financial budget for sports and social activities as classes and libraries because of the importance of student’s health and preparing them for the real world by improving their social skills.