Do you agree or disagree with the following statement. At Universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries, and should receive equal financial support. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The educational institutes still face controversies on funding which campus facilities. Some are of the opinion that, in college, the social activities and sports are as important as classes and library and should share equal financial aid , however, others hold an opposite view. Considering the merits and demerits of both the sides, I support the idea of universities funding the social activities and sports just as library and the classes for the following reasons.

To begin with, all the educational colleges share identical academic program, it’s these extracurricular activities which sets the institute apart from other institutes. This uniqueness motivates and attracts more students for admission. For example, the Ivy League institute in Pennsylvania. It is famous for the victories of its Football team. My cousin, enduring a strong passion for football, always wanted to seek for his higher studies from the Ivy league University of Pennsylvania and so he diligently maintained his academic and sports record get into that college. Not only this, recently I went through a newspaper article which found that students like my cousin actually look forward to pursue education from colleges which are known for their on-field victories. It’s the dedication, loyalty and fund the colleges pay to nurture such facilities in their campus.

Moreover, these days, the institutes face economic issues while funding the campus facilities due to limited resources. However, financially aiding sport activities could stimulate profit for whole of the institute. For instance, My uncle is the head of the sports department in a famous medical institute in my hometown. Once we were having a conversation about the significance of organising matches and annual sports-meet for the medical students. Surprisingly, I learned that these sports activities are not only exciting and motivational for the students but also profitable for the university. He explained how these events make money by sponsorships, ticket sales and so on, which is later used for the college campus development like dormitory renovation, revising skills lab, maintenance of campus gym and swimming pool. Although, this is not an ideal way of earning money, but a pragmatic solution in today’s financial crisis.

In conclusion, I vehemently support the idea that the universities should equally fund the sports and social activities similar to the libraries and classes. This is because such facilities set the college apart from the other colleges which would encourage more student admission and, because such activities will bring financial profit for the institute.