Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The university is the place to acquire information and knowledge. In addition to that university provide a suitable environment to conduct research due to the availability of library, laboratories, and equipment that students need to do research and facilitate the education process inside a college. As a result, colleges and universities put all their investments in developing university facilities such as libraries and classes. On the other hand, the financial support that sports and social activities receive is small compared to the support that other facilities receive from university budgets. Personally, I believe that nonacademic activities should obtain the same amount of financial support from the university. In the following paragraph, my reasons are going to be clarified by details and examples.

First of all, university and college should be the place that the characteristic of a student is built in it. Building the characteristics of humans should involve all aspects of human activities, not just the educational side but also improving social skills and their sports skills. And this could be accomplished only by supporting financially the other activities in college, for instance, building tennis courts and supporting the university clubs ( football, basketball......).

Secondly, when supporting these kinds of activities the students would do useful things in their free time and holidays and keep them away from problems such, dealing with drugs and alcohol. In addition to that, doing non-academic activities would improve and enhance the balance of student life. For instance, the study revealed that the student who involved in the non- academic activity show a higher percentage of self-esteem and confidence.

Thirdly, another reason that why sports and social activities should receive equal financial support and have the same level of importance as classes and library is many students are professional in these kinds of activities more than studying and researching field. And by supporting them financially, we give them the space and the ability to do what they are good at. For example, my brother is a good football player and he always wished to play in the university club but because the university did not support the football club, the members of the club postponed the activities and did not participate in any games.

In conclusion, sport or social activities should receive financial support from universities, these activities are important just like the importance of classes or library or laboratories . for many reasons: first, give the students space to be themself by playing games or participating in social activities like book club or conversation clubs. second, build the personality of students from all aspects.