Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The way people dresses is a good indication of his or her personality or character.

It goes without saying that there have been always different ways within human being’s reach to exactly discern the personality of people and they have increased in an unprecedented way since the human’s recognition has come a long way. While many parochial people may not concede, I strongly subscribe to the view that the way how people dress thoroughly speaks of their character and they go together. The reasons to substantiate the view I asserted are elaborated upon the subsequent paragraphs.

First and foremost, since the identity of every individual consists of his personal idiosyncrasies, tenet, preoccupation and temperament, and all of them propel people to synchronize their daily activities, in particular, the way they dress, with the mentioned factors, the dressing way is a proper symptom of everyone’s character. In other words, not only does the people’s disposition result in people dressing according to the certain way they think or assess their environments, but they also are conspicuously inclined to exhibit their own thoughts to their fellowmen by this way. To be more specific, from the psychological perspective, humans, thanks to their observation capability, often evaluate and judge whoever they meet for the first time, just by glancing through him and make a decision about his demeanor in the twinkling of an eye. Thus, meticulously apprehending this prominent issue which is so influential throughout their life people do their best to wear the clothing which is explicitly compatible with their notions just to be recognized by others appropriately. In this way, others do not misinterpret their personality and commit a misconception, which may engender additional endeavors in the future to amend their attitude. Furthermore, since in almost all of the developed countries in the modern era every individual is utterly entitled to dress in the way he prefers and there is no limitation against him to hamper his personal approach, people, as a rule, dress in a way that comforts to their personal beliefs. Accordingly, Iranians’ famous proverb, “Whatever protrudes from a clay jug completely indicates what is actually inside it.” is a case in point, which means the way people act and dress specifies their own identity.

Second, since from the psychological perspective, the way how a person dresses whether he is conscious or not, dramatically affects his behaviors, in the long run, his clothing is entirely a proper hallmark for others to distinguish his personality. Actually, the psychiatrists believe that the diverse spectrum of colors and patterns of what people wear will absolutely change their temperament in the long term. For instance, with respect to the beneficial results of considerable research done by the elite scholars, there is a widespread consensus that the people, wearing the dark color clothes may encounter with a great number of mental disorders and this can make them so despondent or the red clothing, which is associated with energy, can motivate them in order to put a lot of energy on their assigned tasks. Moreover, dressing in a particular way, inspired from someone who has made a name for himself in a certain issue, people will start to imitate the route of their livelihood too, maybe either to acquire a better dignity between their counterparts or to achieve the prosperity. Consequently, doing these activities associated with a certain clothing method over and over causes them to get accustomed to their paradigm’s disposition, which will obviously alter their character even if they are not aware of what they de facto do.

In conclusion, taking all of the aforementioned grounds into account, I daresay that there is a strong interconnection between the people’s identity and what they dress and each has a lot of momentous impacts on and shapes the other. Hence, considering the clothes of someone, others can completely recognize his personality.