Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? When people succeed, it is entirely because of hard work. Luck has nothing to do with their success. Use specific reasons and examples to explain your position.

As everything in life is like a coin that has two different sides, people must weigh the pros and cons before jumping to conclusions. After all, each and every question or topic requires careful deliberation in that there are always multiple variables to a truth. Even though some may adamantly believe that people are successful because they are lucky, I, personally think that hard work is the only tool that can help one achieve their goals. Success can have a different meaning to different people. For some individuals, being successful correlates with a job promotion whereas, for others, it may equate to getting good marks. One common thing that ensures success is hard work.

Success is often a result of a sequence of correct decisions and many small victories. This happens gradually, contrary to the belief that success is an overnight feat. Successful people often claim that they took small and planned steps in order to ensure that they emerge victorious in the end. Stroke of luck is generally perceived as a one-time event. For instance, when I was in university, I knew I had to stay focused and study well in order to score good grades. These grades will ensure that I am well equipped to secure a decent job. If I had not studied during my exams and relied completely on luck, I would not be in the position that I am today.

I resonate with the idea, ‘The more hardworking you are, the luckier you get.’ Continuing with the example stated above, assuming that someone who scored less than me got lucky and landed a job in the same firm as me. The chances of him getting promoted without putting in the effort are slim. One has to work diligently and persistently to climb the ladder and get a promotion. The company will judge and analyze you based on the effort you have put into the company and not on the grounds of your luck. Therefore, to achieve anything in life, one has to put in the effort.

For some people, being a success is having a family. This also requires a lot of effort and time. You have to make ends meet and make things work. For instance, my mother claims that she is successful since she believes she raised her kids well because we are independent and socially responsible human beings.

In summation, yes, it is virtually impossible to provide a completely satisfying answer to an open-ended question. Although the jury may be out on this give essay topic, we can mutually agree that success is more hard work and less luck due to the reasons mentioned above.