Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Young people nowadays do not give enough time to helping their communities. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Helping the community is considered to be a challenging task among most teens. Nowadays, young people prefer to spend most of their time in their pleasure; they do not put any of their efforts to help other people like young adults in the past. I feel this way for a couple of reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, today, the advent of technology makes young people busy to do any community services. They spend most of their free time to play video games and other technological games such as Play Stations and X-box. Since teenagers become addicted to games, these games took all their time from helping the community. For example, I remember my nephew Mohammed, during his free times, he used to play X-box with his friends online. He spends more than ten to eleven hours playing and chatting on this technological device. Furthermore, whenever I go to visit my sister, I could not see him or even ask him to do some beach cleaning with me because he is always busy playing. Obviously, teens today do not invest their time to do community services; however, they spend most of their time to play games.

Adding to the previous point, nowadays, young people do not do anything for free. They ask for a reward for anything they do. Therefore, they are no willing to volunteer in any community services because most of these services are without any reward. For instance, my niece Lama is a very spoiled girl. She learned from her close friends that before accepting any duties, people should consider the reward first. This concept becomes viral among teens, so whenever their family ask them to help in cleaning the house or washing the cloth, they ask first for the reward. Indeed, they would not help the community if they are not helping their family.

In conclusion, young individuals are very busy today to help their community. This is not only because of the arrival of technology but also, they do not like doing work for free.