Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the past, in some countries, especially Asian, only professionals, doctors or intellectuals are highly respected int he society. These days, there has been a change of the perception of the community, for more emphasise has been put on sports and social activities. In terms of education, it is important to invest on sports and outdoor activities for students to attend.

To begin with, there is no denial that a good health is the grounding factor for a person to achieve their goals in life. Only by playing sports can people train their body and mind, preparing the best condition to get to work. Research has proved that playing sports can be an effective therapeutic method in reducing stress. Concerning that students are often under the pressure of exams, outdoor activities will help them to relax as well as exercise.

furthermore, a full growth is becoming popular with a great deal of parents around the world. In addition to academic studying, students may have a special talent of a particular sports, such as karate, volleyball or basketball. Therefore, schools should try their best to help them training and pursue their dreams.

Last but not least, sports and other activities provide students with crucial social skills that can only be taught in reality. Sports teaches students about sportsmanship and solidarity. For example, in football, members in the team will have to understand each other in order to win a game. That is the lesson about cooperation. Besides that, presentation, coordination or financial management skills will be of great importance to students in the long run.

In conclusion, sports and social activities are not only helpful to students physical condition but also their mental health.