Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The statement is about universities and colleges funding priorities. There is a lot of differing opinions about whether sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries hence should acquire equal financial support from colleges and universities. Personally, I believe that sports and social activities hold just as significant as academics, thereby the external activities should receive equal financial support. I feel this way for two reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, I think extracurricular activities prepare students for future job opportunities. In today's world, job employer's only doesn't look for degrees graduates acquire. Before hiring they look for more such as leadership qualities, team-playing abilities, whether are able to work outside of their comfort zone. Sports provides all of that along with other social activities such as different types of clubs. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. While I was studying in high school, my high school had several clubs such as earth club, science club, debate club, language. I was a member of a language club where I not only excelled at a language which not my native tongue but also provided me with self-confidence. I was very weak at communicating in English, partly due to my fear of saying wrong sentences or so on. Club used to organize various events and workshops that helped me to overcome this fear. This has resulted in confidence about myself. In contrast, my university did not have any kind of other social activities or sports events. Due to that, many students do not have anything else to offer to the employee other than their academic degrees. That's why many of our graduates are unemployed.

Secondly, extracurricular activities are a great way to socialize with new people. Meeting new people helps to built network and also makes a unknown place easier to survive. By building a strong network it can beneficial one later in life. For instance, in my university I was only acquinted with people took my major. In my final year of thesis, I needed to collaborate with someone who can provide me some information that was not in my major. It was a task of great difficulty as i didnot know any people outside my classroom. My high school was a big school consisting about more than thousands of people in my year. But through participating in different club events I met a lot of people and through that network I was able to land my internship while many of univesity classmates didnot get any opportunities even after passing for a year.Also meeting new people I made a lot of new friends which made my high school time of sweet memory.

In conclusion, I am in the opinion of receiving equal financial support in sports and social activities as in classes and libraries. This is because it a great new way to met new people and built strong network and also it helps a student better prepare for facing upcoming difficulties in life.