Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Educating children is a more difficult task today than it was in the past because they spend so much time on cell phone, online games, and social networking Web site.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Without the shadow of doubt, technological advances have altered the way we live and have such a great impact on our lives that can not be over looked. Some may consider that online connections and cell phones have negative affect on the students education but as far as I am concerned they can also be of great advantage too. So I am completely disagree with that statement.

Firs and foremost, maybe some students use them only for entertainment but cell phones and social networks are reasons that some students do self study. Self study can help students that do not want to waste their time by going to classes like me. I will assert my point with an example. I study in Iran for master degree in sciens but whenever I attend a class professors starts to describe their own experiences instead of just teaching, So at least three quarter of the class time along with my time wastes on subjects that are irrelevant so I decided to study by myself and joined a social online group. In this group we are able to ask our questions and some one who knows the answer just submit a comment in response to the question so as a result of this I am able to spend at least eight hours of the day to study and if I had any question I just submit it online.

The last but not the least reason that one should take into account this significant is distant learning. Although cell phones and mobile phones can occupy students mind, it can offer distant learning. Distant learning not only helps student to save time and money but also it provides a platform to connect to individuals outside the country too. There are mobile applications and social networks that lets you watch famous professors teaching advance classes in high ranked universities. An instance can illustrate my point better. I study optimization and there are some courses that I can not attend because no professor in Iran is educated enough to teach the course but such courses in MIT, the best university in the world, are normal. So by searching online I have found that a mobile application called edX offers these classes for free, consequently I just downloaded the application on my mobile phone and now I am learning convex optimization by watching only videos. Also the professors who are casting these videos are the ones that I dream to meet.

To wrap it up, all aforementioned reasons and examples shows that while students can only play with their tools, those who like to study can implement them the proper way and learn more buy using online classes and saving time. So I think what most of the people allude to as obstacle to student education, has more advantages for the education.