do you agree or disagree with the following statement:
good teachers set challenging tasks for their students.
There might be many teachers who believe that students should be faced with
challenges that are in accordance with their book level. I strongly disagree and I
reckon that students should be confronted with more challenges in their school time
due to the reasons below: First, By more challenging tasks, their abilities to thinking
ciritically will be promoted. Second, they can improve their social skills.
First, By the help of more challenging tasks, their critical thinking will be promoted
tremendously. When students are pushed to do harder tasks, they have to open their
eyes more widely to see the different aspects and angels of an issue in order to be
able to solve a problem. I used to be a physics teacher. In order to teach the concept
of speed directly to my 7th grade students, instead of giving them the equation, I took
them to the lab and gave them some tools and asked them to design an experiment
that can measure the speed of an object , which is a lot more complicated. Besides, a
good conceptual task will put students in different real-life situation which can help
them make real decisions.
Second, in order to overcome the obstacle that the challenge has provided them, they
have to get help from each other and therefore, this can undeniably help them
promote their social skills. They have to be able to work in groups in order to find
solutions to problems. working in a group can help them learn how to build
relationships with one another and how to communicate and hear different and
opposing points of view. Group work can motivate them and help them develop both
interpersonal and intrapersonal skills. In the example that I provided above, you can
vividly observe how working in groups in order to come up with an experiment can help
them with their social skills.
In conclusion, I believe that in order to have individuals that can take a deeper look at
the problems they are faced with throughout their lives , we have to nurture students at
school in a way that they can actually learn life skills real just a couple of subjects by
exposing them to more challenging tasks and situations.