Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past it was easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a secure, successful future.

It goes without saying that in today’s progressive world we live, choosing a right occupation is one of the most challenging decisions in humans life, since it has the potential to defines people’s success and well-being in their future. In this vein, with the advents of the modern world, a controversial debate has emerged among people around the idea of whether it was more comfortable in the past to determine which careers lead to future prosperity and better quality of life or it is more facile today. Personally speaking, I strongly believe that nowadays, it is more complicated than before to define which careers can guarantee a promising future. Two reasons to substantiate my viewpoint are illustrated in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, technological advances have made it difficult to determine an occupation’s future fate since robots and computers are taking the place of the human workforce in many industries. It is crystal clear that many jobs that in the past required a specialist to being performed are now getting done simply with the help of computers. Researchers declare that this pace of replacement is at its peak nowadays, and many of the careers that exist today will not be needed in the future. An example can drive this notion home correctly. Less than fifty years ago, there was a considerable demand for music performers in theaters and cinemas since playing a movie in these places were accompanied by live performances. However, with the advents of sounding technologies, movie makers started to produce musical parts of their films with computers and stoped associating with music players in theaters. If it was not because of the high rate of technological advances, the placement of musicians in the theaters was still entrenched.

Moreover, the supply of expert workforce in the contemporary world has been increased dramatically compared to the past times, whereas the demand almost remained stable. Therefore, as a result of today’s competitive working environment, the career type is not the only factor that determines one’s prosperity, and other factors, like prior experiences or educational degrees, have more weigh in assuring a person to be successful in a profession. For example, in not too far pasts, there were few doctors in the society and those who became doctors had a bright future since their income and job security was assured. However, nowadays, there are plenty of doctors in the community, and the factor of becoming a doctor cannot solely bring prosperity into people’s life. Instead, other factors like personal branding or studying at a well-known university are getting more weight.

In conclusion, considering all the abovementioned reasons and points into account, I firmly believe that it was much convenient in before to identify which type of job could lead to a luminous future, not only because technological advances are eliminating many occupational positions today but also due to the fact that nowadays we are facing a surplus in the supply of professional workforce.