Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past it was easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a secure, successful future.

In today's world, people are trying and doing their best to live in quiet, convenient, and healthy life. But by the time passes, achieving to this goal may become more intricate than before, so from my point of view, I strongly agree with the statement. Identifying what type of career or job would lead to a secure, successful future becomes more and more difficult by comparison to that time. In this regard some reasons support that idea, two of which are of great importance, are elaborated upon hereunder.

To begin with, one of the most important difference between today and that time is the limitation of majors. People's alternatives were restricted and everyone would choose between some familiar options, however, nowadays they are confusing by the numerous type of jobs. It is crystal clear that situation was effected by the population. The number of individuals who lived in that time were less than today's. The more population, the more variation in senses. Different senses plus the demands made them eager to find a new way to support their need. But in the past no one concerned about any variations, so they clearly knew what they want to be. A saying comes to mind, which equivalent in English may sounds this: "To help people to reduce their wasting of time, restrict them."

Secondly, dependency is playing an important role nowadays. In the past, most of the people wanted to continue their family's business, so from childhood, they understood what they would be in the future. Without any shadow of doubt, they could be more successful than the others who wanted to ran a new business. For instance, a person of whom father was a farmer, children worked on father's field and continue farming to make more land for cultivating. In other words, their paternal attempt paves the way for them and they did not need to start from the "first stair". Apparently, offspring nowadays, because of changing in the manner and also diversion of fields, do not have any enthusiasm to continue their paternal business, while can be found ones rely on this inveterate method and they are more successful than the other ones. In summary, more children want to be independent by the contrast of the past, so this leads them to be more confused to choose the best for their future.

In summary, by taking to account all the mentioned factors above, people were really convenient with choosing their career because of the limitation of majors and dependency on their family. Both these factors had lead them to be more successful rather than being confuse between variation and "colorful" jobs like today's world.