Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents’ jobs than to choose jobs that are very different from their parent’s job.

All children have a dream about their future work; some of them prefer to follow their parents' footsteps and some of them think differently, both of these preferences have their advantages and disadvantages. However, I strongly believe that having a job similar to their parents is more beneficial. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, the similarity between children’s job and their parents actually helps them to learn more from their parents about the occupation. Having knowledge and experience about a job is valuable which learning them requires a lot of time and work. Youth learns from their parents in their childhood in which parents have not only had a great impact on children to choose their future jobs, they have also had a chance to convey their experiences and to make interested in their own occupation. My own experience while I was an adult is a good example of this. When I was eighteen, my mother who has been a teacher, took me in her class once in which I have learned a lot about teaching; she has taught me her experiences and showed me some brilliant aspects of being a tutor. For example, in her class some students avoided hard work; she taught me how to handle them, she gently nudged them back to their important study by some techniques like asking questions and encouraging them to respond by giving them some empirical evidence on the subject. Moreover, students’ respect for my parents has always been fascinated me with their jobs. Choosing a job like parents’ is effective for children because they had learned more about them from their parents and had more chance for prosperous in their occupation.

Secondly, beginning a new job without any experiences has its risks and many unknown aspects which increases the probability of a failure. Many people at least once experience lost their passion for work which is due to their misunderstanding about their work and to have not a supporter who is helpful for managing their business. In some situation like mentioned previously having similarity with your families’ job is a superiority over others. For instance, a young farmer who his family have the same job has an excellent chance to have a proper farm, because he/she based on his/her families’ experiences knows when is an outstanding time to cultivate and which approach is better for their yield which cause to improve their work effectively, whereas others without any knowledge of farming and without family supporting have to spend more money and time to get skills for just starting their work.

To sum it up, I am of the opinion that having a similar job to their parents has more advantages for children. This is because they can use their parents’ experiences to learn more about their work, and because the risks of the job are lower and they have opportunities to improve their business and get more support from their family.