Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject

Nowadays, our lives become more complicated than before. Different fields of knowledge are assembled by humanity in order to confront their problems. In that case, many people assert people should learn as much as academic sciences that they can whereas others believe that people should become experts in just one specific field. As far as I am concerned, the second thought has advantages over the first one.

Firstly, as knowledge varieties expand day by day, the dept of each knowledge enlarges too, so people simply could not become familiar with any fields of knowledge unless they spend huge time on those.Therefore, it is not enough for people to have broad knowledge since they cannot apply it. For example, about a thousand years ago, a person was able to learn astronomy, medical science, and mathematics during his life. However, these days, a person even cannot reach to a point that he could claim that he knows a field of knowledge perfectly. So, if people do not spend much time in a scientific field, they cannot have enough knowledge to use in the real world properly.

Moreover, in the present day, not only should people use a scientific field for their lives but also they have to expand it. The reason is, we live in an era in which knowledge is blooming in every moment, so if a person wants to be considered by society as a useful member, she has to make vast advances in a field of knowledge. When I gather all of the mentioned information together, I reach this belief that people should learn a field deeply to can cause progress in that field nonetheless it would be a useless endeavor.

All in all, learning a field of knowledge deeply is neither a waste of time nor useless. The fact is, it is exactly the opposite due to the requirement to learn science deeply in order to apply that practically. So, in my opinion, people should not waste their time "to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects".