Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?
It is more enjoyable to have a job where you work only three days a week for long hours than to have a job where you work five days a week for shorter hours.
Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer
Each person has own preference for working style. As an engineer who works in a busy step,
I agree that having a job with three days a week for long hours is more enjoyable. Below are
some viewpoints that I support with.
First, I am a person who cares about working and life balance. Working three days a week can spare much free time for my hobbies.
For example, if I get four days off a week, I can plan a longer trip to the countryside. I can even spend three nights sleeping in a tent
and listening to the sound of nature. However, if I only have two days off at the weekend, the only thing I can do is wondering around in the park and
worrying about the work for the following Monday. Some people might argue that working with three days for long hours must get exhausted. However, I always
go to sleep immediately after my work done. As a result, that concerned might not be a problem.
Secondly, I like to concentrate on my work in a short period of time. I can focus more on my job in three days with continued working hours.
One time, I have a topic for solving the defect in the chip. I dedicate my spirit to work for the experiments all day long. After keep trying for three days,
I fulfill my goal perfectly. However, if my work is divided into five days a week. I might be distracted by many routine jobs. Besides, my thought might
get interrupted by each end of the day.
Last but not least, I am a person with high independence. If I have a job with three days a week, I can avoid some unnecessary meetings. Then, I can
dedicate all my energy to the important task no matter how long the working hour is. However, if I attend to my office five days a week, I might have to
waste much time on a boring meeting. That situation definitely wastes my efficiency.
To sum up, in order to get better working and life balance and improve my working performance. Working only three days a week for long hours is more enjoyable.