Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support you answer. Be sure to use your own words. Do not use memorized examples.

Friends are the people who always stand by our side in our good as well as in our bad days. But, we cannot always make sure that the people whom we use to call friends for several years would always be the same or always stay with us. Therefore, I disagree the fact that it is more important to keep our old friends than making the new friends. I would explore the reasons for this in the following essay.

To begin with, I would like to state one example from my experience, I had a childhood friend and our friendship was almost for about 20 years. We use to share all things like happiness, sadness in our life, we use to celebrate together every festival, never missed wishing each other for birthday, we use to do group study and many more things in common. But, all of a sudden life changed, he shifted to other city, as his father received transfer from his office to shift to other city. After this incident, we rarely talked with each other, even in this highly technology world he rarely tried to contact me or talk to me even after my lots of effort to keep the contact the things were not same as it use to be before. And finally one day I stopped watering the dead plant and moved on. To clarify, giving up on the dead relationships is not a bad deal, inspite it gives us more opportunities to be more social and find someone else who is worth of the friendship. And therefore, making new friends would give you new experience in life, as someone said it correctly "experience is the most important factor to grow in our life", and so we grow through experience instead of holding on to the things which isn't under our control.

Secondly, however, it is not likely that every time we would lose our old friends. It depends completely on the situation, sometimes the situations are bad not the person beliefs or thinkings. For example, I had a friend whom I met in my high school and it's almost 5 years for our friendship, he is too ambitious and pedantic person. Sometimes when he gets stressed due to his studies he mess up and also fights with me but this situation does not states that we are having a bad bond but instead after every fight we both apologize and gets to normal as before. Therefore, to be on point, sometimes understanding each other in bad situations can also make you realise how good the bond is between our friends, and holding on to such understanding friends is more worth then making the new friends.

Therefore, making new friends or holding on to the old friends completely depend on the situation, and its our decision that which things we give utmost importance, whether the lost old friend or trustworthy new friend!