Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Keeping on touch with old friends should be considered more important than making new friends, in my opinion. When making relationship with a person, we usually spend a lot of time knowing the person and building intimate connection with him or her and it is hard to sustain it. However, making new friends would be relatively easy because we can make friends at school, at work, or almost any other circumstances. but will these relationships survive after years? I doubt that.

That is why keeping old friends is important. These people are someone would not be able to be replaced. Whenever I see an old friend, I feel comfortable talking and hanging out with him or her. I would not need to disguise or trying to praise him or her. I could be myself all the time without being judged. due to that reason, we should keep these friends that we really trust. But staying with a new friend would be another story. Because of relatively weak connection with a new firend, we need to watch what we act and double check what we say just trying not to step on the line. It would be much difficult showing my real self.

Although it is easy to make friends at anytime and anywhere, it would not be easy to make real friends that could survive after a long period of time. After graduate from college, people would spend most of their time focusing on work. In order to make our work easier, we tend to make friends with our colleagues or managers. And that kinds of friends would be considered friends at work particularly. It is quite different from true friends that we have in our school time. We make these friends for practical reasons and would tend to break up due to many causes, including promotion or retirement.

Last but not least, human are not imortal and that we have limited time living on earth. If we spend more time on making new friends, it is obvious that we have less time staying with old friends. And it also means that we could not spend the same time with old friends as before. It would be a possible that your friends think that you are not that close anymore.

Due to all the reasons above, we should put more focus on old friends than new friends. Making new friends is something we should do, but old friends definitely stays at a much higher place. Although keeping old friends might takes a lot of time and is not easy to do at all, we should try our best not to lose them.