Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Friends are incredibly crucial for the shaping and developing of both individual and the society. With concerns of these perspectives, I believe it is more important to keep old friends than making new ones.

First, keeping old friends gives us chances to discuss important personal issues with friends, the issues that I may feel uncomfortable to talk about with new friends. Human kinds tend to open their hearts to old friends than new acquaintance, because old friends are more trust worthy. When attaching greater importance to keeping old friends, we build our friendship on the ground of trust, and we can feel free to talk about our personal issues and relax with old friends. It can be rather hard and hopeless when we need to talk to someone close, only to realize we have so many friends but no close ones.

Second, keeping old friends can enhance team spirit. Team spirit is important for both work and entertainment, and keeping old friends is a great way to build our sense of team. When conflict appears in a friendship, we may either abandon this friend and make a new one, or try to figure out a solution to the problem. If we are willing to keeping old friends, we will choose the latter and make ourselves more cooperative and friendly.

Third, in a larger sense, when individuals are willing to keep old friends, the whole society may be benefited since there are more trust among people. If we live in a society where everyone is more willing to make new friends instead of keeping old ones, we may be perplexed by such an environment because we may be busy dealing with too many new friends, yet lonely inside, because we hardly have anyone to talk about good old days and the likewise fantacy.