Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, there are many advanced techniques are evolved for learning new things efficiently without knowing the basic principle. The proponent of the aforementioned statement thinks that understanding of idea and concepts are not important to learn a subject. However, it is not true because to learn and to apply a knowledge requires a basic mechanism of that process or subject. Therefore, for a student, it is essential to understand the idea and concept than learning the matter.

Firstly, to learn a new subject, one needs to understand the basic principle of that, because without knowing the ideas and concept he will not learn that thing. Additionally, without the introduction one will not grow its interest toward the subject. A student will learn a subject very well when he has ardent interest toward the subject. If we take an example, a science branch student will learn very quickly a science subject like- physical science, life science, and botany, but he will face problem to learn language subject or other non-science subjects. It is because he knows the basic principle of the science subjects and so he has a keen interest in it, that the non-science subjects.

Secondly, one of an important characteristic of learning a subject is knowing the basic or elementary knowledge of the subject. Because the advanced principles are stood on the pillars of rudimentary knowledge. Therefore a student needs to understand the basic ideas and concepts of the subject to learn the entire course. Otherwise, he will not able to learn the subject and will lose his interest to the subject.

In conclusion, I am strongly agreeing that for a student it is very important to understand the ideas and concept that learn the subject. To learn a subject need two thing- basic knowledge and interest in the subject. Therefore, for a student, it is urgent to understand the concept and ideas than other things.