Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

During our lifetime, we are bound to meet many people and they might become our friends. It's a cycle that happens to any of us, we meet new people and it's not always true that they'll replace our old ones. In my opinion, I feel that making new friends is more important than keeping old friends.

For sure, old friends are the ones who always been there for us, we know them very well, they know all our strengths and weaknesses and it's the greatest thing in the world. If I want to talk to someone about a dilemma I'm facing, I go and see my old friend because I know they will understand me and guide me through the rough time I'm having.

Sadly, at some point, it becomes inevitable that we lose some of our old friends. In my case, I had a very good friend that we couldn't see each other anymore or even talk that often since I moved to another country. Each of us matured and headed a different direction and I realized in the end that we had nothing in common.

Thus, it is more important to make new friendships. This way, we learn new things, it keeps us having an open-mind and we also discover new personalities. I always meet new people, be it at school or at work and I try to befriend them when the time is right. Nevertheless, it starts with being acquainted at first and it develops to having good friends and one day old friends.