Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In my opinion, keeping your old friends in your life is more beneficial than making new ones because of three reasons: one, they have always been there for me when I needed help; two, you have years of experience together and finally, they know all your strengths and weaknesses.

Old friends have through thick and thin for me, no matter what, they have always stood by my side when I was in a rough spot. I remember one time when my parents got divorced, I was very young back then and very angry and shocked at the same time, so many mixed emotions running through my mind and I could not have gone through it without my best friend since childhood whom he had his parents divorced too and I talked with him about it and with time, I slowly managed to pick myself up.

Another reason for holding on your old friends instead of making new friendships is because you have history together, you know each other for a very long time and you found their personality and gained trust. With that in mind, it is easier to share your feelings and problems with someone you trust. With new friends, trust does not build that fast, it takes time to develop and sharing something personal with them might be difficult.

Finally, a third reason keeping your old friends is better than making new friends is because they know your likes and dislikes, your strengths and weaknesses. New friends don't know these things first hand, it takes a bit of time to know each other more. An old friend can advise you on an issue where your facing and knows what is good or bad for you. For example, I was having trouble deciding what field of study should I choose after finishing high-school and one of my best friends recommended me to do a medical career because I loved to help people.