Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the contemporary world, the friend is not a fresh world. People often influence with friends in every stage of their lives. However, the question is who is important? Some people believe it is better to add new friends to get extra support. On the other hand, if I were asking, I would definitely disagree with that statement. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

The first reason is comfort. The old friends are more comfortable because they know everything about us and we have a mutual understanding. On top of that, they maintain confidentiality, and it is very important in a friendship. Consider my personal experience as an example of this. When I was studying for my master’s at Ohio state university, I have a friend whose name is Ram. He is my childhood friend and I used to share all my personals with him. While we studying at college, he got an on-campus job, but I didn’t. He tried a lot and talk to the administration department and the dean of the college for my job and finally I got a job with his recommendation. What’s more, last year we got an award for best friends on the campus.

The second reason is the emotions. I personally believe, emotions are important for strong and long-lasting relationships. If we know a person for a long time, they are emotionally attached to us and our families and after a while, they are like our family members and they take all responsibilities. Consider my school friend, whose name is Alex as an example to illustrate this. He is one of my best friends and he is very close to my family. When I was moved to Taxes for my studies, He supported my family a lot. Especially, my sister marriage last year. He is the one taken care of all the requirements and act like a own family members. If we were adding new friends, This kind of relationship wouldn’t possible.

In sum, although adding new friends is important, I personally believe old friends are always important. They are more comfortable and emotional then new friends. I recommend the people not lose your old friends.