Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Leadership comes naturally: one cannot learn to be a leader.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Thorughout history, there have been many roles in all societies, yet the prominent one is leadership since it has widespread impacts on people's lives and because of this issue, leaders should have specific characteristics in order to be successful in their jobs. In this regard, some believes that leadership is a natural personality, while others look at this concept from a distinctive perspective and hold this opinion that leadership has to be learned and it is a definitely aquired characteristic. I, personally, subscribe to the latter group for quite a few reasons, two of which are as follows.

For one thing, since leadership like other pivotal social roles requires skills and techniques, there has to be taught to people who are managers or leaders. In other words, leaders should learn how to lead their members effectively in order to meet the requirements of the community and achieve their ends successfully. Additionally, combination of several approaches or novel methods would assist the leaders to boost the effectiveness of their role in their society. It is statistically proved that societies in which people achieve leadership based on hirercy, they leadership faces failure and the level of disagreement among citizens is higher in comparison to the communities people elect their leaders based on their qualifications they have earned in their lives. This clearly indicates the role of education and learning skills on becoming a successful leader.

Another equally momentous reason that I should mention is that ones who would like to be leaders should practice uninterrupted in order to intensify their characteristics as a leader.By this I mean, every skill or role can be improved by practice and leadership should not be neglected in this regard. No matter a person knows how to manage or lead others, he or she ought to know that as like athletes need exercise and practice to sustain their muscle mass, people should practice what they have learned recently, alongside, what they know naturally as leaders. To illustrate my point of view, there is a well-known proverb which states:" Practice makes perfect." This reveals the impacts of practice in the realm of being a leader.

To sum it up, according to all reasons that discussed above, I, strongly, disagree that leadership skill is a natural gift that cannot be acquired by teaching since not only do leaders learn novel skills and mixed techniques to improve the effectiveness of their leadership, but they should practice all the time to strengthen their skills.