Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the accelerating development of our society, movies and television are becoming two vital roles in our daily life. Yet some advocates that the movies and television have more negative effects that positive ones, others think otherwise. From my perspective, I disagree that movies and television have more negative consequences.

First, with the arrivals of 21st century, due to increasing study stress on young people, entertainment has been a vital factor in their daily life. A man cannot work like a machine, which performs 24 hours without resting. Having proper rest will actually benefit youngster’s academic life. Furthermore, movies and television are the most common way for people to forget the heavy burden on their shoulders without questions. Thus no one can deny that televisions and movies act as an essential role for young individuals helping them relax themselves after hard study. For instance, I live in a city in the north of China, which is famous for its difficulty to attend universities due to the huge population in out province. Studying is becoming a daily for youngsters and almost everyone in school complains about the stress they are facing. In that case, our school has announced that they will hold a movie night on Friday after school to help student relax. That event is so successful that my friends are actually feel a bit relief from our study. Thus, movies and television are indeed playing positive side in our daily life.

Second, admittedly, there’re some scenes in the movies which are not appropriate for young people such as smoking and killing. Nevertheless, we cannot blame this to the movie or television themselves. If the government build the reasonable regulation and rating standard for film industry, then young folks will not get in touch with this inappropriate content. For instance, although now Chinese government has not release any rating standard for film, some movies editors themselves set up an award called Smoking Ash Award, which will be held every year to evaluate every film in the theater. The movie with most percentage of smoking scene will be awarded. It is not a positive honor but a kindly remind that maybe the director might consider less smoking scene in his next movie. Thus according to the example, everyone can see that young people can receive positive content from the movies.

Conclusively, since the movies and television can ensure both relaxation and positive contents, I pro for the standpoint that they have more positive effects than negative ones.