Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

One of the best ways that parents can help their teenage children prepare for adult life is to encourage them to take a part-time job.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The modern world has brought many unique challenges and changes to people's lives. People need to be equipped with useful skills and knowledge in order to overcome those issues properly and they need to start learning at young age. Parents play a crucial role in helping their children and, in my opinion, children must be motivated to work even if it is a part-time job. This essay will discuss this matter.

First of all, humans are entering a new era which they may face many difficult situations to manage. In general, people need to learn and develop many skills and enhance their potential abilities to be capable of handling tough problems on their own. Children are no exception as they are the future of society and they are expected to collaborate with others to contribute society. Proper education is an inevitable part of their lives and they should study hard to succeed in their future career. However, learning practical skills and being able to accomplish various tasks is more important for these young persons. Once they know about the merits of hard working, they will not be afraid of making independent decisions and taking the responsibilities of their actions. For example, I remember when I was a kid, my father took me to his friend's store in which he fixed electric devices. That was an invaluable experience mainly because I learned to organize my tasks daily and also I was paid for job which was enjoyable.

In addition, another significant point to mention is that with the advances in technology, people have access to a wide variety of attractive devices and services such as smartphones and online social networks. According to some research conducted at a prestigious university, children spend 30 percent of their time on Facebook, Instagram and online games which can distract them from higher goals in life. By encouraging them to take a part-time job, they can focus on something beneficial. It may seem natural and understandable that these young adults need to have fun and pass the time the way they want, but they need to continue their education and at the same time they should learn that they will gain much more if they improve their practical skills.

Furthermore, some people may believe that children should only focus on their studies and education. Working has no conflict with pursuing education. By contrast, this gives them the opportunity to know about the real life and the merits of collective activities which are focused on the same purposes. If they are given the option to work a part-time job, they not only will develop constructive skills and learn from other people, they also can enjoy what they earn and they can spend that money on whatever they desire.

In conclusion, children need to develop many useful skills to be influential members of their communities in the future. Parents must teach them how to take responsibilities of their actions properly and children must be motivated to work at young age instead of wasting their precious time on playing and chatting with friends.