Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

One of the best ways that parents can help their teenage children prepare for adult life is to encourage them to take a part-time job.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It's not a good idea for teenage children to have a part-time job as a way to prepare them for adult life. I say this for two reasons that will be explained in the following essay.

The first reason as to why a teenage child should not have a part-time job is so that the teenager focus on his/her studies. In my opinion school is to be the main priority for the teenager, all aspects of the oppurtunities that are offered in school must be explored. The different opportunities that a school has are the academic one, the extracurriculum activities such as school clubs, and maybe the student would be interested in sports or volunteering. If the teenager take parts in these different aspects of school then it would be difficult to add a part-time job to the activities. Also the student should focus on getting good grades so that the student gets a better chance of going to a good college.

The second reason why a teenager should not have a part-time job is because the job would take up alot of time. Although having a part-time job might teach the studet to have time management, so would having extracurriculum school activities. Been part of these school activities and having responsibilities in these school activities teaches the student time management as well as providing the student with a chance to socialize with people their own age. The teenage years should be an age of exploration and of getting prepared for college.

In conclusion a teenage child should not have a part-time job to prepare him/her for adult life. The teenage child should focus on school and school related activities. The teenage child should be focused on getting good grades so that the teenager goes to a good college. Things like time management and responsibilites could be obtain through extracurriculum activities.