Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.

Since the beginning of this century, in all distinctive civilized societies, it has been a very controversial argument among individuals or even intellectuals, through which numerous conflicts has engendered. Some people are inclined toward the opinion that sitting in front of a computer and playing video games are wasteful; therefore, it should not be permitted, while others consider this issue in a whole diverse perspective. Although an absolute conclusion cannot be made in spite of all the opposite attitudes I strongly concur with the statement that playing video games is not useful for children. The outstanding reasons for my opinion would be explored below.

To begin with, sitting in front of a monitor for a long time is harmful for one's vision. I will be the first one to admit that playing video games in some cases is a relief. On the other hand, it would lessen children's vision. For example, my younger brother always plays video games; as a matter of fact, he doesn't even move his eyes for a long time in order to be focus on his games. After a couple of months, although he hated glasses, he had to wear them because of his decreased vision.

In addition to causing poor vision, it makes them lazy and fat. Children who play with computer usually would rather sitting and playing than doing physical activities so that they can concentrate on their game, and gain a higher score. Consequently, they get fatter as the time goes by. Everybody agree that it is dangerous for their health. In fact, not only does playing video games make children fat but also it is harmful for their body.

Apart from the points I made above there is also another reason that I would like to discuss about. That is, they learn nothing from playing video games. I believe that there is a lot of alternatives for playing computer games such as reading books or playing physical games; in fact, neither of them are as harmful as playing video games. Furthermore, by either reading books or doing physical activities children at least learn something that both advances their knowledge, and is useful for their future. From my personal experience, when I compare my brother who is nine years old with myself at my younger ages, I can see the difference very vividly. Due to the fact that my brother doesn't read books, he is not able to do his homework properly, and he always needs someone to get help from; on the contrary, I got A's in my school without any help all the time.

By way of conclusion, based on the argument explored above I strongly agree with the idea that video games are not beneficial for children, and they should not be permitted. Because first and foremost, it lessens children’s vision; moreover, it's not healthy. Also it doesn't teach anything to them.