Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Successful people try new things and take risks rather than only doing what they already know how to do well.

I agree that successful people try new things and take risks rather than only doing what they are familiar with. To illustrate, modern society advances with a rapid speed so people must learn new things continuously to catch up and further to success. Below are three examples that prove my statement.

To begin with, music industry is one of the most profitable industries in the world. People who work in this field keep try new things and styles. Take Taylor Swift, the most popular icon, as an example. When she released her first album, she was a country singer. Then, she began to play piano and guitar to make her music sounds more fruitful. Two years later she changed her style and became a pop singer, with a whole new image surprised everyone. Now almost every single of her is a huge success and the music video was clicked hundreds of thousands times on the internet. If she did not learn new skills and improve herself, she could not have the success she gets now.

Secondly, “Alibaba” is no doubt one of the most famous internet companies in the world. The fonder Jack Ma is a legend as well. Before becoming a well-known business man, he was an English teacher who had no idea about technology and business. However, after he leaned about the Internet, he decided to acquire more knowledge. Furthermore, he dared to set up his own company to run the Internet business. In less than 10 years, his business has dominated world of the Internet. He once said that stepping out of his comfortable zone was best decision he has ever made and he encouraged everyone to take the courage and try new things.

Last but not least, recently the youngest Nobel Peace Prize laureate appeared. Her name is Malala. She is an activist for children and women education. To be more specific, Malala had a hard time attending school because the local Taliban banned girls from that. She did not give in but it got her a lot of trouble. Even though Malala was only 15 years old, Taliban viewed her as threaten and shot her in the head. Fortunately she survived, and she decided to keep advocating her belief even though it was a risky decision. Malala will not be noticed by the world if she decide to give in. Consequently, people who want to success must be brave and willing to take risk.

In summary, I believe that successful people do not settle with what they already know. They have the courage to try new things and are not afraid of taking risks.