Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Content discussed in classes is planned beforehand, however teachers may, sometimes, bring about topics that are not in the educational program. There are times when an educator indulges himself in a social, or political conversation with his students, and expresses his beliefs. In my opinion, such situations should not only be avoided, but restricted as well. I feel this way for the reasons that I will explore in this essay.

To start with, social, or political views can easily be implemented into students’ mind, especially when they are being referred to during a class. This may happen because of students’ tendency to take a teacher’s word for a fact. Teachers, on the other hand, are expected to teach their students academic material, without taking a stance on the case being studied. If they don’t do so, they are falling in contradiction with the rules, and principles built in the educational system, they accepted to follow. Furthermore, students have the right to have their own opinion, and be free of unwanted influence. On the whole, teachers should not make their social, or political opinion known to students due to possible chance of implementing biased ideas.

In addition, another reason why teachers should not state their personal views is because students may get offended. The consequences of this can include the students’ declination in academic level. The nature of these topics requires you to choose a side, and if a teacher’s doesn’t match their students’, conflict may arise. In such a case, the more vulnerable side- students may believe that the teacher is expressing his opinion out loud to degrade or ridicule the former’s opinion. In conclusion, students can take teacher’s personal statements close to heart and choose to fall back on their studies.

Therefore, because of the chances of influencing undesired ideas, and offending students, I’m against teachers letting students know of their personal views.