Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

By and large, discussion about different points of views is a controversial debate in all societies. Although some people believe that students should learn about various perspectives in their schools from teachers, it is my opinion that discussing society and politics can be harmful to students and distract their focus on their lessons. The following paragraphs will illustrate my viewpoint.

First of all, talking about the teacher's point of view can be very challenging. When a teacher lets their students know how he is thinking about community problems, students strongly want to discuss their individual perspectives. This is because they are young and cannot control their emotional behaviors so much. Thus, they continue the discussion, and it makes the class absolutely uncontrollable. Finally, the teacher wastes his class time too much and cannot finish his desired syllabus in the residual time. Then, he unintentionally forced himself to teach faster in the rest of class time, which can harm students learning and makes the teacher put much effort to clarify the lesson for the students.

Secondly, as a consequent effect, it is possible that some students even lose their interest in the class and do not pay attention to their teacher anymore. Since students are still immature, a challenge between them and their teacher will affect their feelings. After that, students get angry with their teacher, although they might do not show this emotion. It makes students not to listen to their teacher and spend class time on other activities. As a result, these students do not try to understand that class and will get bad scores in their exams. For example, when I was at high school, once our physics teacher said a sentence about our president inappropriately. One of the students who was keen on the president got angry and started to answer the teacher. This started a long argument in class and took too much time. After thirty minutes, our teacher could finish the discussion. I never forget my classmate nervousness. Finally, he never could make a good relation with our teacher anymore, and his scores in that class started to get worse. This shows that a little problem might make a big problem.

In conclusion, although some people think that arguing about social and political problems in schools have some beneficial aspects, I strongly believe it will have a lot of bad results in the students' feelings and understanding. This is because not only will some students hate their teacher, but also the teacher will not finish lessons and subjects in that class.