Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Technology has made children less creative than they were in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

During the centuries the technology has been improved in a plethora of ways specially in communication and information. People of all ages are accustomed with the advantageous improvements that technology bring to our daily lives. I disagree with the statement that technology lessen the children’s creativity. I feel this way for the following reasons.

Firstly, the advents of technology, mainly the Internet, exacerbate the access to a ubiquitous information all around the world. Being well informed is the pivotal factor for the process of learning, consequently, it enhances children’s ability to be creative. This easy access to information is an advantage that came with new technologies. For example, today the vast majority of schools provide online sources of subjects to enhance the class contents and the grades of students.

Secondly, modern electronical devices reduce distances since help approximate people. Maintain contact with distant friends and family is easier than in the past, this close contact with people that live abroad enhance important skills in children. Furthermore, children can learn a new language with a native using the Internet, which was not possible in the past. For instance, my two nephews that live abroad learned portuguese through the online contact with their brazilian family.

Finally, technology provide ways to stimulate creativity in children such as games, online visits to museums, painting and draw activities. This globalized environment increases the curiosity and awareness of children, hence rise their creativity.

To sum up, I strongly disagree with the statement that technology reduce children creativity.