Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Television advertising directed towards young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the advances in Information Technology, people have access to a wide variety of information resources such as the Internet and television channels. These tools provide people with the ability to acquire useful knowledge and they can also enjoy watching amusing contents. Some people may think advertisements are not appropriate for children of a certain age and that these contents should be banned. I believe advertisements can be both advantageous and enjoyable for children. This essay will discuss this matter.

First of all, the modern world has brought many unique challenges and changes and people need to be prepared to overcome those issues properly. In general, people need to learn and develop many useful skills to be capable of managing difficult situations in life. Children are no exception and they need to gain knowledge at young age. Although proper education is of great importance, children need to have their own free time to play or watch TV programs. Information resources usually have some dedicated space or timespan to advertisements and some of these contents are constructive for children. For example, by watching some ads about the dangers of leaving home alone, they may be warned and informed and they may avoid such decisions. Moreover, there are some advertisements that encourage people to maintain a healthy diet which are absolutely beneficial for children. They can learn to follow some basic patterns to have a healthy lifestyle.

In addition, another significant point to mention is that parents and teachers play a vital role in ensuring that children actually benefit from watching TV programs. Although many useful and informative programs are produced, however, there are some inappropriate contents that children should not see and as a result, children should be monitored. Parents must observer their behavior at home after watching TV and teachers are also responsible to show them how to develop suitable skills by spending time on TV. For example, instructors should teach children to organize their time and ask them to give feedbacks after spending time on some TV programs. By reviewing those feedbacks, teachers and parents can assist them better by shaping their mind toward what is best for them. Some children may show more interest in music when they watch a musical movie and some of them may be motivated to paint by an artist appearing on TV. For this reason, children can benefit from watching any TV content but they should be monitored by their parents and instructors.

In conclusion, children need to learn many concepts and skills in order to contribute to society in the future. Watching television programs can be beneficial as they can both learn and enjoy. As these young people are expected to become bright members of their communities, they should be allowed to watch those programs and parents and teachers can monitor them to ensure they learn and succeed.