Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There have been many controversial debates about how people and in particular teenagers and students, are influenced by external factors. Among numerous parameters, teachers and the way they treat students in schools have been recognized as a significant impact. However, young people usually put more value on their intimate relationships with their friends and that is the reason why they are more affected by those friendships. This essay will discuss this matter.

First of all, sociologists classify different kinds of impacts on a society. People in general are more influenced by their friends and colleagues according to these scientists. Students and young persons are no exception as they spend most of their time with their close friends. They may see each other regularly to talk and play games. They also go shopping together and watch movies. All these shared activities give them a sense of happiness and safety as they trust each other and they enjoy passing time together. Moreover, in such group activities these young pupils learn from their friends, for example by forming a studying group. My own experience is a compelling example of this fact. My friends and I have been friends since college and we spend a lot of time on group activities such as traveling, camping and even online courses which help us develop many useful skills. For this reason, it is obvious that students are more affected by their classmates and friends.

In addition, another significant point to indicate is that with the advances in technology, people now have access to a wide variety of attractive devices and services such smartphones and social networking services. These facilities not only have helped them to enjoy the life better, but also people have several opportunities to improve their potential abilities through, for instance, informative online resources. Furthermore, using their smartphones people have become more close to each other as they can communicate via services such as Facebook, Instagram and Whatsapp. As a result, they the concept of global village is becoming a non-negligible fact and people can have great impact on each other. According to some research conducted at a prestigious university, teenagers are spending almost 30 percent of their time on social networks which means these services are playing the role of an influential medium. So it is not surprising that people are affected by others specially by their friends.

In conclusion, although teachers play an important role in shaping students' minds, these young adults are more likely to be influenced by other external factors. Among many factors intimate friendships, in my opinion, have been recognized as the most important parameter that can affect students and teenagers in particular.