Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The new modern era has brought many challenges and changes. People need to develop many skills in order to be able to tackle these issues properly and accurately. Humans are social creatures which means they are capable of communicating with others for various reasons and benefits, so they need to make friendships to have a better life in general. Some people might think lasting relationships with few people is the only thing they need, however, I believe having as many friends as possible is more beneficial. This essay will cover this matter.

First of all, humans are dependent on each other to make communities to both survive and prosper in life. Being able to make new friends has several advantages. One such obvious benefit is that people can learn from each other, they can learn to develop many skills and improve their potential abilities much easier if they interact with other groups of people regularly. My own experience is a compelling example of this matter. When I was pursuing my undergraduate studies at my university, I made many friends with almost all my classmates. We walked around, had many parties and had a lot of fun together. The important point is that, we always helped each other in our studies and other difficult situations. We learned the importance of group activities which made us really successful in our lives today.

In addition, more new friends means more pleasure. People can enjoy life with ones they feel more close to, and this can lead to pure happiness. With more friends around us, we have more opportunities to choose to share and enjoy. For instance, my friends and I are so intimate and we plan almost every single event and gathering with the help of each other. Once we decided to have a trip to an exciting place and we all talked about our desires about where we like to go. Finally, we voted and decided to travel to Venice, Italy. That trip undoubtedly was one of my best experiences because we share those amazing moments together.

Finally, there are many moments in life that people might face hardship. In such times of need, they need good friends to reach out and ask for their help. If they have established good relations with many friends, they have better options to get assistance in order to resolve a problem as there will be more intimate volunteers to rely on. For example, I remember one of my friends had a terrible accident when she and her family were going to another city. Unfortunately, some members of her family passed away left negative mental effects on her. Our group decided to make her happy and hopeful toward life. So, we invited her to join us on a long trip for camping which was really helpful and encouraged her again to continue her life.

In conclusion, there are many moments in life when we value true friendships. Although, having a few trustable and close friends may seem beneficial, in my opinion, people will benefit from having many friends in life because they can help them succeed and enjoy the life and also, they can help them in times of need.