Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Human kinds are social creatures that need to interact with others both emotionally and for getting through life problems. The importance of friends is obvious in our lives, but is making new friends the important part? In my opinion, keeping our friendships for years is of more importance and needs a combination of many social skills such as patience and compromise.

first and for most, all the relationships go well at first but problems exihibit after a while. Remaining stable for a relationship needs both sides to compromise. if they pass the problems successfully, this experience will help both of the sides not only in continuing this relationship but also in making pleasant relationships with others. Suppose two students who get friends. Each of them an especial expectation and attitude toward regular tasks. one of them may be totally against cheating in exams and the other one may think of it a way to help of friend. At the beginning of their relationship when they do not know each other very well yet one of them may ask the other one to help him during an exam anf for sure the other student will be angry since it is against his ethics. if these two could talk about this problem and could solve it, it will be great experience helping them to deal with future problems more reasonable, otherwise the relationship will cut in that moment and they could not be cardial friends to each other from the first place. my point is that through dealing with problems people get to know each other and make their relationship stronger.

Secondly, regular friends can not the impact of close friends in our life. we share our secrets with our close friends, trust them and ask them for help if we face a problem. but if we have many regular friends whom we meet only at work or university, have a short time together and then we go other tasks, we can not expect them to help us during tough times since they may have more important tasks to do than our problem. Although, for a close friend the story is totally different. we expect our close friends to help us because we know than we will help him during his difficulties because he is important to us and we expect the reverse too.

All in all, from what I have discussed above, close friendships will require some time to be made but it completely worth it. keeping friends is a significant social skills that can be applied in many tasks in our life such as marriage. friendships and the experience we gain from them will role an important role in our lives.