Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Friendships is one of the historical and essential humans need, people need to share their happiness and sadness, and be with some friends who understand their emotion. Today, due to social networks, some people have a lot of friends but the important issue is that, if they fell a great amount of happiness with those friends or it is worthwhile to have a few longtime friends to fell true happiness. Someone believe that have new friends are more enjoyable because it makes chance to communicate with different people, whenever, in my opinion, having a few long period friends is more valuable. The ensuing paragraphs explain reasons to support the statement.

First of all, we have a lot of things in common with our longtime friends which make our relationships close and closer. Some of this friendships initiated when we were students in elementary or high school. So, we grow up together and it is crystal clear that they have a great knowledge of our characters, feeling and our fears. Because of this knowledge, they can help us to overcome harsh situations. For example, when I lost my family in a horrible car accident, I fell lonely and I was depressed, my best and longtime friend help me to pass those harsh moments. Because she knows that I afraid to live lonely, she asked me to live in her home and become her roommate. Of course, new friends can't help us in such a dilemma because they haven't enough time to find our fears and feeling.

Secondly, long term friendships can make a sense of trust between two friends, because we have a long time to know our friends and test them in different situations. Life is full of ups and downs, So people show their real characters in these ups and downs and we can understand if they are trustable or not. For example, we just say our secret to whom we can trust them and whose are more trustable than friends that we know them for a long time.

In summary, we need friends to have happiness and enjoy our times, but it is important to spend our time with who we know them for a long time. It is because we have lots of things in common with them and we can trust to them in hard situations. Thus, I greatly recommend to have few but longtime friends to have happy moments.