Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Family is one of the most important part on each societies and if we have good families we can ensure a good society. It is all because family is the first group which we face to and learn so many things from its members. some people think it is important to have an extended family which all family members like grandparents, counsins and other family members are living together and think we still need to live in a big family like this, while others believe these days big families are needed less and having a big family is not as important as it was in the past. In my view, extended families are now less important than before and I would like to elaborate my opinion with following reasons.

Firstly, people's attitude toward family has changed. some decades ago people liked to live together as a big family and it was really important for them because they could work together and overcome problems easier, but todays people just prefer to live alone or in a small family and it make the importance of big families less. For instance, when I was six years old, we were living in a big family and all my cousins, aunts and uncles were in a big house which we were in too. elders used to work together in our farm and it was a big help because we could have more fun during our work and it was easier to earn money by working as a team. But as time passed, all of us changed our attitude toward living together and prefered to separate and live in smaller houses far from each other. It was exactly the thing which happended for some of my friends too and I belive it was based on a trend in people's opinion toward family which made people to pay less attention to big families.

Secondly, life's cost has increased. Each day we see that inflamation in all societies increases and it makes the cost of life really more than before which can lead to having smaller and smaller families in societies. As time passes, some members of family can not work anymore and they will be just consumer and based on this point that the life's cost has increased in a crazy way, active members of a big family can not afford the cost of a big family's life. To bring an example I can mention to my own family one more time and say that when I became twenty years old, my father and uncles got retired and did not have the ability to work as hard as they did in the past. It was while all young members were really busy by their schools and universities and did not have time to work, also prices and cost of life were increased and we could not even pay our bills. So our family faced to a big financial problem and that was one of main reasons why we decided to separate and live as separate small families. I am sure it was something which happened for lots of families and forced them to break into smaller families and even prefer to have less children.

To cut the long story short, we cannot cast any doubt on importance of family and living by all family members, but based on presented justification, my conviction is that the extended families are less important now and we see less and less big families each single day. We can even predict that this trend will continue in future too and we may even see people who are living alone and even do not marry.