Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The importancre of family varies from country to country depending on their cultures. When it comes to the question wehter the extended family such as grandfather, cousin, uncle and so on is less important now than in the past, people adopt spread spectrum of attitudes depending on their characters and educational backgrounds. On the one hand there are people who adhere to the belief that although people have several difficulties in their life, family members are as important as the past; on the other hand, others believe that familiy members are less important nowadays. As far as I am personally concerned, the latter view carries further weight since not only do people have less time to visit their family members but also does modern life bring them some difficulties which they may sometimes forget their family memebrs.

People nowadays spend less time with their family memebrs. In fact, living in big cities create a gap between family members due to the presence of financial and career issues. In other words, people nowadays need to work long hours in order to deal with financial burden and fulfil their family' expectation. hence, when they come back to their home, their tiredness make them unable to travel to other part of city to visit their parents or uncles. Furthermore, there are also some difficulties about raising children which really take people's time. For instance, taking children to school, buying them clothes or nursing them when they are ill will take a lot of people' time. Subsequently, provided people want to value their family memebrs, they do not have time to visit them.

What's more, people nowadays like to interact with person who they have a lot in common. In other words, people value friends more than their family since they have chosen them. Living big cities provide people an opportunity to acquaint diversity of people with different cultures, characters and personalities and become friends with them depending on their personalities and characters. Therefore, people spend most of their time with their friends since they help them to be happy when they are in difficult situation. Consequently, family member are less important since people can find new friend who are more helpful to them.

To wrap it up, family memebrs are losing their importance since not only does modern life make people very busy and out of time to visit their family memebrs but also does big cities allow people to find new firends who have a lot in common with them. I personally value my parents and family members although I amreally involved in my daily life.