Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

To improve the quality of education, universities should spend more money on salaries for university professors.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, one of the most significant issues having occupied the minds of pedagogical authorities in the developing countries is whether or not increasing the professors' salaries at the universities will be beneficial. In this respect, some people emphasize that professors earn money adequately, while others claim that the universities should spend more money on their salaries. In my mind, the latter groups' opinion seems more rational due to chief reasons being discussed in the following paragraphs.

First of all, increasing the professors' salaries at the universities makes the university more credible and prestigious. These days, universities are really concerned about their world university ranking, and try very hard to boost their rank in the world. This is not accomplished unless they try to gather the most sedulous and genius students in the world. The more universities increase the professors' income, the more they are able to hire talented students in their research group. For instance, my father is a university professor majoring in mechanical engineering. In past, he was not able to hire as many students as he desired since his fund was limited. However, after the university increased his salary, he could accept more students in his research group y offering them more financial aid and took different industrial projects in that more students could get involved. As a result, the number of projects implemented by the university boosted, and the ranking of the university was reinforced after months.

Moreover, another reason motivating me to agree with the idea of increasing professor's salaries is a recent study having been done by the researchers of Harvard University, whose abstract published in their quarterly. It reveals that professors who earn more salaries do their jobs more enthusiastically. Furthermore, Carl Gustav Jung, a noted Swiss psychologist, asserts in one his most notable works that the most important factor to encourage people to do something is motivation, which is earning more money to many people. Hence, the more professors earn, the more motivated they teach. Plus, students enjoy attending classes whose professor teaches precisely and willingly. If the professors lose their motivation to teach, the students will lose their motivation to learn as well.

To wrap it up, it is essential to bear in mind that professors need to be paid more so that the university will be more prestigious in the world by accepting more talented students. In addition, university professors need motivation to teach, as well as the students who need motivation to learn. Therefore, not only had the university authorities better increase professors' salaries, but also the students should recommend them to do so, too.