Do you agree or disagree with the statement: to generate electricity, people should use clean sources like solar and wind and not use polluting sources like coal or oil.

With ever-growing industrial and domestic need for power, electricity generation is of a great significance. There are several methods to generate electricity which can be categorized into using the traditional fossil fuels and using clean energy such as solar and wind power. I would argue that we should use the latter in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, human-caused climate change and its consequences are among the most pressing problems in our era. As many of these desasters are reaching to a tipping point, where changes would be irreversable, we all are responsible to take actions. Experiencing the catastrophic issues caused by this, including more frequent floods, wildfires, and heat waves, there is consensus between people and governments to mitigate climate change. During last centruty, a major part of the green house gases (GHGs) came from using fossil fuels such as oil, coal, and natural gas to produce energy. Scinetists have worn us that even the natural gas, known as the most clean fossil fuel due to relative low CO2 emission compared with that of others, cannot avert the climate disaster. This is because the fact that not only burning these fuels to generate energy produce vast amount of GHGs, but their extraction and purification release a lot of CO2. Thus, an essential step to mitiage GHG emmision is to change our source of energies. Green and clean energies can be produced by solar panels, wind turbines, and hydropower plants, which are sustainable sources.

To add, transiton towards these realtively new energy sources requires research, technology development, investment, and training experts. Therefre, this transition is a huge opportunity for economic development. In other words, the capacity building required by going green in energy sector would result in several new jobs. Furthermore, these cleen energies are not as accessable as the traditionas ones right now, but once we reach to this ambitious goal of affordable clean energy for all, we can use these methods to improve quality of life in developing coutries. Developing countries such as countries in Africa and South Asia have enormous solar and wind energy potentials. For example, Kenya has a great potential for solar and wind energy, yet just a few percent of its energy comes from wind turbines due to lack of access to affordable required equippments and workforce with relevant experties. Moreover, small-scale solar panels could generate electricity at the household-level, which could provide sustainable clean energy for low-income families. If the generated electricity is more that ther demand, they can also sell the extra power and have an side income to improve their economic status.

To conclude, I believe we should go through transition towards 100% clean energies; this is the most effective way to reduce carbon footprint of energy section, and it would be a great opportunity for economic development, especially in developing countries.