Do you agree or disagree: young people should try many different kinds of jobs or career before they decide the long term career of their life.

A controversial issue relating to whether people should try different jobs before they decide a long term career, or just strive to find their ideal job, has brought to the attention of relevant people. Many people think that individuals should not waste their time trying jobs that they do not need to work. On the contrary, in my opinion, people should have the willing to try different types of jobs before they choose their long term career.

First of all, working in a variety of jobs will help people to expose themselves to a diverse environment, which could spark their interest in things that they never thought before. My own experience as a young adult who was unsure what major to choose, is a compelling example of this. About two decades ago, when I was in my freshman year, I was not sure what major to choose. I tried to engage myself on different workplaces, such as I volunteered as an assistant at the local emergency department, and also as an assistant at my local pharmacy. After I exposed myself to all these different disciplines, I realized that pharmacy was what I liked the most. Had I not volunteered, I would not have experienced and found out what major I liked to pursue. Even though some people may see it as an unnecessary move to waste time volunteering, it is crucial that young adults experience the work in the first place. This is because they will better understand the meaning of the work after they do it on their own. That is why, being exposed to different workplaces might help students to realize what they really like to do.

Furthermore, working in different places will allow people to make new friends, and expand their social network. For instance, After I worked on each place for approximately two years, I was able to make lots of friends with whom I still have an amazing relationship. To be more specific, when I need them they always show up for me. What is more, my new friends that I met at emergency department always encourage me to stay as a strong, confident, and never give up for my dreams. Had I not worked on those places, I would not have expanded my social network and may life would have been just vague.

In conclusion, people should work different types of jobs. This is because that will help them to expose themselves in different workplaces and discover what they really like. And because, they will get to expand their social network, which will change their lives.