Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Providing Internet access is just as important as other services, such as building roads, so governments should offer Internet access to all of their citizens at no cost.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In this time of age, people appreciate the opportunities of being able to have access to a vast number of services. Many citizens believe that Internet could never be equalized with buildings and roads. However, in my opinion, the government should consider Internet as a valuable service, which really is part of public.

First of all, having access to Internet will benefit our population because the possibilities of getting connected with each other everywhere in the world are high. People would need a smart digital device such as a computer or an i pad to communicate with their loved once from all over the world. For example, two decades ago, people struggled to communicate with their family members over the seas. My uncle lived in America at that time, even though he had a phone and computer, the Internet service was not that good. After the years passed by, new technology was improved and we used to speak with my uncle almost every month. We were exited and could not wait to talk to him. If the technology was not going to change, we may not have had the opportunity to keep our connections alive.

Moreover, nowadays, the lifestyle has changed people's demands. The majority of people work remotely. It is a necessity having access to Internet, so the government should seriously consider this and try to invest in initiating programs were people could easily use the Internet as a working tool. To put it in other words, today's marketplace is offering jobs, where workers could work from their own homes, they just need to have a computer and have internet access. For example, my brothers experience is a compelling example of this. After he graduated, he started working from home. This was convenient for him because he did not have to commute every day. His company was located two hours far from his home. So, for my brother having Internet service was crucial, otherwise he could had not completed his job. According to this experience, the internet service should be considered essential for people, and the government has to play its role to make it available for all people.

In conclusion, providing Internet should be significantly considered by the government. This is because people use internet for communication purpose, and because nowadays, general people use it as a working tool.