Essay topics: TPO-20 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Successful people try new things and take risks rather than only doing what they know how to do well.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

"Be the one who dares”, the archaic saying comes from the British Naval Army. It means that the one who takes a risk may gain the victory. I conclude that neither in the war nor in life, people can be successful without taking a risk and moving forward. The capability to invent a new technology or to augment the established technique needs a willingness to take a risk. The successful people experience this repeatedly, therefore, I agree with the statement above.

First, the exemplary person always takes a calculated risk so they can produce the brand new idea or invention. They do not jump to an arbitrary decision but they execute a rational, comprehensive, and well-investigated plan. Whereas the common people neither took a risk and choose to play safe and hinder a drastic change, the noteworthy person can foresee the benefit of taking the risk for an invention of cutting-edge technologies and cultivate it to make a substantial profit. For example, Bill Gates chose to drop out from Harvard in pursuit of Microsoft, from general view this is a harmful decision but for him, but for him it is the right thing to do. He successfully made the windows software and built his empire from zero. The rest is a history.

Second, the success comes from a continuous upgrade of knowledge. They believe that science is expanding; they understand that the modern now will become obsolete in decades later. Furthermore, the ability to do research and read the market makes the successful people always a step ahead. For instance, Samsung always works in perpetual research for the new television technology. Instead, stick to their trademark, they insist on finding a television that efficient, everlasting and durable. Hence, they successfully invent the LCD TV and become the leading market.

Lastly, although they try new things, the successful people also ready to fail. The risky decision sometime comes with less than hopeful results. When they try a different thing, they may lose their money or decrease the value of their stock. Instead become dismal with the situation, they take the lesson and start over. This new knowledge becomes a building block of skill and expertise. Practice makes perfect; this applies in the search of greatness. In fact, Colonel Sanders failed to make his well-known fried chicken a thousand time before the chicken we all love arrived.

Ultimately, a success comes with hard work and perseverance. It also tangles with bravery and ability to improve. All things considered, I completely agree with the statement above