extended family are less important than in the past

Some agrees that grandparents are less important now than it was in the past. However, there is no doubt that grandparents are the word of wisdom and peace in any family. In the ensuing paragraph, I will further elaborate the rationale behind my opinion.

First, Grandparents lived longer than anyone in the family. That means, they have been through a lot more than any of us and lived many experiences either in their career or in their personal life. This experience is a treasure that every other family member should make a good use of it. Personally, whenever I have a problem that looks impossible to be solved, I go to my grandfather to guide me and let him help me with it. For example, after high school, I had to go to college. So, I was torn between living in the dorm or living with my parents. However, my grandfather advised me to go through the experience of living on my own for the first semester then decide if I should go on with living alone or go back home to live at my parents’. Clearly, this was the best advice someone has ever gave to me. Not to mention, I lived on my own and had a great life experience. Therefore, it is important to listen to our grandparents who are the wisest of all generations.

Moreover, older people are generally calmer and having peaceful life than ours. So, whenever I feel stressed due to family problems or work issues, I pay a visit to my grandparents’. That is because, this is where I had my childhood, when there were no responsibilities and all I have to do was to play and enjoy my time. For instance, last week I had a long tiring week at work. I stayed up late to finish my work every day and I felt so exhausted that I didn’t want to go to work next week. However, my grandmother called to invite me over and spend the weekend with her. Therefore, I decided to pay a visit to her and surprisingly she made my favorite meal and dessert. Eventually, I felt calm and peaceful enjoying my time at their house and that made me ready to work with a positive mood on Monday. That is why my grandparents’ role in my life cannot be underestimated.

To sum it up, people don’t have enough time to visit their relatives like in the past. But this doesn’t mean that their impact in our lives became less important. If people involved their grandparents more in their lives, they will realize how much they missed before.