In general, people are living longer now. Discuss the causes of this phenomenon. Use specific reasons and details to develop your essay.

People have been debating a lot about why humans` lifetime has been increasing. Personally, I think it is because, these days, the mankind has advanced medicine and technology. There are a few reasons why I hold this opinion.

First of all, progress in medicine has given people a myriad of medicaments to treat a variety of ailments. Before the beginning of the last century, millions of people worldwide died from numerous infections such as the Plague, tuberculosis, and cholera. Nowadays, the mankind has vaccines and antibiotics, which help us to prevent and cure these life-threatening illnesses. When people have plenty of medicine to defeat diseases, they can live longer. My own experience is a good example of that. When I was a twelve years old child, I was suffering from pneumonia – a highly contagious, dangerous disease, but because I was given antibiotics by doctors in a local children`s hospital, I was successfully cured. Moreover, after the recovery, I was vaccinated for the disease in the same medical facility. As a result, to this day, I have never been contaminated. In this way, the modern medications helped me survive the deadly sickness and became a healthy adult.

Secondly, contemporary technology has decreased the intensity of people`s manual labor. These days, we have a lot of equipment available to perform physically arduous for the human being work, which our ancestors had to accomplish with their own hands. If a person is not exposed to physically exhausting activities, he/she can stay healthy and enhance his/her life expectancy. For instance, I recall my grandfather`s tales about how after the World War Two, citizens of my country had to reconstruct Russia from ruins. They did not have the machinery to build new roads, bridges, and homes – they had to do it manually. This kind of labor was incredibly hard for the people and it resulted in a variety of health problems and sudden deaths. On the other hand, the new generation of the Russians use technological equipment to create new towns and cities, and therefore, they are not stressed out by the tremendously difficult labor. This is one of the reasons why my contemporaries live longer lives.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that constant development in medicine and technology let people extend their lives. This is because it contributes to their well-being by providing them with effective drugs for a healing and with helpful tools for work.