A gift (such as a camera, a soccer ball, or an animal) can contribute to a child`s development. What gift would you give to help a child develop? Why? Use reasons and specific examples to support your choice.

Childhood is an important time for all human beings. This is because their entire lives will change either in a good or a bad way. I believe children's development could be enhanced if they use to read books during their childhood. For this reason, I would give a book to a child to help him or her to develop.

In the first place, books, especially children's books, contain stories and these characters, and children usually fall in love with characters and they want to become like them when they grow up. In other words, if a book is about a story of a teacher who teaches children and takes care of them, some of the children who read this book will dream to become a teacher in the future. When I was a child, I was not interested in books, but my brother was. He used to read books whenever he had free time, and he was interested in stories which were about doctors or hospitals. Additionally, he liked to watch a cartoon show which also was about the medical field. Consequently, when he grew up, he put a plan to join a medical school and be a doctor. Eventually, he became a doctor three years ago and now he is completing his higher degree in neurosurgery sciences. As you can see, if my brother had not read medical stories books, he would not be a doctor right now.

Secondly, when children use to read many books, they will be addicted to them in their entire lives. To be more specific, most of the people who read books a lot, they have started to read books since they were young. For this reason, these people have knowledge of many subjects which make them special among others. Moreover, they have more opportunity to have a job because they could do more than one job’s task. For instance, one of my friends who loves books and he used to read many books when we were at university. Currently, he has three jobs and he gets paid by three different companies. In fact, his major is computer technology and he works as an information technology manager in the day time. During evening time, he works online and teaches people marketing basics. Also, during weekends, he works as an English teacher online.

In conclusion, by providing the reasons and examples in the previous paragraphs, I think the perfect gift for children is a book and it does not matter what this book is about because the most important thing is to make a child love to read books. As a result, the children will determine their areas of interest are and will have more chances than others to have a job.