High grades easy courses low grades challenging courses

For a lot of students in university or college, receiving high grades at the end of the year is a serious goal. However, personally, I prefer to take more challenging courses, even if this means that I might earn a lower grade. I feel this way for a number of reasons, which I will explore in the subsequent paragraphs.

First of all, I think it is always a good idea to challenge yourself and to set the barrier high. As a student, the most important thing during your studies is to learn about new topics. Students should be more focused on the contents of the courses, instead of on their grades. My personal experience is a great example of this. Six months ago, I had to choose between an advanced course in econometrics or an introductory course in psychology. Personally, I think the introductory course in psychology would have been an easier class compared to the econometrics course. Nevertheless, I chose the econometrics course, which was definitely challenging. After all, I am extremely happy about this decision. Although it was most certainly a challenging course, which consumed a lot of my study time, I have learned lots of useful things, which I would not have learned in the psychology class.

Secondly, taking more challenging courses will prepare you for the job market. If you apply for a job at a big company, they will not ask you about your university grades. In fact, they are interested in the actual skills you have obtained. In other words, most companies do not care if you have finished all of the introductory university classes. In order to get a job at a certain level, you must be able to show as well that you have learned in depth about certain topics. For example, a student who has a broad, general knowledge will less likely be hired for a position that acquires a deep level of knowledge about a specific area.

Concluding, if I were forced to choose, I would definitely choose for more difficult, advanced courses and receive lower grades.