High school teachers (teachers of students ages 14-18) spend most of class time lecturing (speaking) while the students listen and take notes. Other high school teachers spend most of class time on discussion and projects that students are highly involved in and exchange their ideas. Which of these two approaches do you think is more effective for student learning and why?

By the fast rate of technology improvement, we are facing a great demand for professional science and graduated people. The main purpose of educational system is to fill these demands. In this regard, students’ education plays a vital role in this system. Although some people might believe that the teachers should spend class time on lecturing, I strongly believe that for having a better education result, teachers should to participate the students in the class discussions to have a better learning results in lessons and social activities on which I will elaborate my ideas in the subsequent paragraphs.

Firstly, learning has a sophisticated process, and different methods are proposed to achieve the learning goals, and one of the most important learning methods is the Discussion Cycle. To be more specific, Discussion Cycle is divided to 4 four main steps: hearing, analyzing, consulting, and presenting. The main goal of the Cycle is to participating the students in the discussions to students can easily analyze the concepts, and present the ideas. A recent study has shown that the result of the Discussion Cycle in comparison to other methods is significantly higher. For example, I had a teacher in our school who guide us to make discussions in the class about physics concepts; after a while, I had an exam in the university, and the question was so hard; it was related to school's physic concepts, so I easily answered the question, and achieved the class top rank. Now, I think if I had not participated in the school discussions, I would have not answered the questions in the class correctly, so I highly recommend participating in the class discussions.

Secondly, students after graduating from the schools need to have social treatments by others; also they need to participate in much teamwork to can achieve the goals. The best way for learning how to teamwork, or learn how to treat in the society is participating in the class discussion. To clarify this notion, class discussion provides many useful lessons to us; by discussing you would learn how to treat with your opponents and friends. Furthermore, you learn have to get help from your friends, or have to manage a group to achieve a right answer in the discussion. For example, all of my experimental classes were held with a class discussion, and students had to participate in the class. In the class beginning, we had a lot of problem with our friend for finding the answer since we cannot work with together. After a while, the more we discussed in the class, the more we learned how to work as a team. In this regard, I think giving chance to students for participating in a class discussion can be a useful learning method.

To sum up, for have a better learning method I significantly believe that student should discuss and participate in the class discussions. Discussing in the class not only help students to learn better, but it also help them to learn how to behave in the society and teamwork.