If you could study a subject that you have never had the opportunity to study,

what would you choose? Explain your choice, using specific reasons and

details.

If I could study a subject, which I never had an opportunity to study, would be Environmental Economics. We all know that economics is the branch of social sciences, which indulges in the compendious study of financial and social behavior of our societies. Environmental Economics, on the other hand, is a relatively newer branch of economics, which considers closely the environmental impacts of human behavior. Let me present you, various bolstering points, as to why I wish to study Environmental Economics.

Firstly, being a Civil Engineer myself, I am well aware of the impact of construction sector on the environment. Let us consider a building construction first. A building construction requires tons of cement, sand, stones and stone chips, chemicals etc, which are collectively dubbed as building materials. Several years ago it was possible it was nearly impossible to estimate the impact of the building materials on the environment, because of the arduousness of the calculations. With the advent of environmental economics, these complex calculations are solved with relative ease. With the help of such calculations, the Governments, both at the State and Central levels, are becoming competent enough for curbing pollution.

Secondly, similar to building construction, dam constructions were nightmares for civil engineers and environmental protection agencies, until the inclusion of environmental economics became common. Estimating the cost of stopping the flow of river to generate hydro-electricity, was never within the realms of possibility. This is now possible and is done quite easily by the environmentalists, which are further utilized in annual budget predictions of the country.

Lastly, because the nature and economic value of environmental goods often transcend national boundaries, environmental economics frequently requires a transnational approach. For example, an environmental economist could identify aquatic depopulation, resulting from overfishing, as a negative externality to be addressed. The United States could impose regulations on its own fishing industry, but the problem wouldn't be solved without similar action from many other nations that also engage in overfishing. The global character of such environmental issues has led to the rise of non-governmental organizations (NGO's) like the International Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), which organizes annual forums for heads of state to negotiate international environmental policies. Another challenge relating to environmental economics is the degree to which its findings affect other industries. As explained earlier, environmental economics has a broad-based approach and affects several moving parts. More often than not, findings from environmental economists can result in controversy. Implementation of solutions proposed by environmental economists is equally difficult because of their complexity.

In conclusion, my fascination for environmental economics has been on the top of my other fascinations and if I ever get an opportunity, I will definitely pursue a PhD in the subject.