If you want to get a promotion at work, which of the following measure would you take?

1. Do more extra additional jobs.

2. Participate more actively or state more personal opinions in group discussion.

In the modern era, every individual has been perpetually concerned about the ways to make more money. This concern became so vital recently, since hard work and patience appeared to be the necessities of surviving through hardships anyone may come across to each day. The controversial question which arises here is whether it is better to do more extra additional jobs in order to get a promotion or one can simply take part more actively in group discussion. Some might find it unacceptable, but I firmly believe that participating in group discussions deliberately enhances the chance of promotion exponentially. There are numerous reasons to illuminate this, two of which I will aptly elaborate on in the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, no one can cast a shadow of doubt on the significant role of giving personal opinions in group discussions in the eye of management team. A recent conducted study in Germany elucidate this reason meticulously. According to this research, managers tend to hire people who don’t surrender easily in the time of troubles. They firmly announce their opinion and provide critical evidence to support that. This particular type of employee makes the whole group more active; therefore, their presence in group discussions may become indisputably beneficial. To put study’s findings differently, the more heated debates and discussions take place in a group, the more likely whole group’s progress would be. All these facts guide us to the fact that managers tend to promote active people in discussions more frequently.

The second remarkable point no one should neglect is that doing extra jobs may impact managers adversely. This is surprising though. There is an old saying which goes like this: “If you are a professional in doing a job, don’t do it for free.” It is obvious that someone who might do additional jobs, won’t do it unless it is payed enough, but the point is, if you show yourself available all the time, it may appear to anyone as you are not enough specialized. To illustrate this, let me give a personal example. Back in college I used to work as a member of scientific committee for a big company. There was a new engineer who wanted a position in the company. First it was known that he is not well educated and experimented, but after a week he was like the best engineer in the world, according to my colleagues. Later, I found that he once showed his calendar to one of superiors, and it was full of marks and signs. It is surprisingly true, it’s the matter of how much unquestionable lies can you say.

To recapitulate, I cling to the notion that says in order to get a promotion it is better to participate more in group discussions rather than work additional jobs. All in all, that was a story in a nutshell. Is it really possible for managers to measure the precise level of their employees to get promotion to people who deserve it?